Extension Committee


  • 5:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday evenings
  • The Extension Committee meets five times per year.


There are seven citizen members of the Extension Committee; one from each Commissioner District, and two youth at-large positions. The members serve three-year terms, and are eligible to serve three consecutive terms.
  • Joy Schmitt, Jordan -- Commissioner District 1
    Current term ends December 31, 2022
  • Anne Thoresen -- Commissioner District 2 
    Term ends December 31, 2021
  • Jennifer Klecker, Shakopee -- Commissioner District 3
    Current term ends December 31, 2021
  • Ben Burnett -- Commissioner District 4 
    Current term ends December 31, 2021
  • Mandy Urness -- Commissioner District 5
    Current term ends December 31, 2023 
  • Logan Biren, New Prague -- Youth-at-Large
    Current term ends August 31, 2020
  • Cole Burnett, Prior Lake -- Youth-at-Large
    Current term ends August 31, 2021
If you are interested in applying to be a future member of the Scott County Extension Committee, complete the online application form or contact Cara at cmadsen@co.scott.mn.us or at 952-496-8169.


In partnership with the University of Minnesota, the Extension Committee assists in formulating programs, establishing budgets, and selecting and evaluating professional staff to improve the quality of life and enhance the economy and the environment through education, applied research, and the resources of the University of Minnesota.