Board Vacancies

The Scott County Board of Commissioners is looking for interested citizens to serve on the following advisory committees. Members of advisory committees are provided with a per diem and mileage reimbursement for attendance at meetings. If you have any questions or are interested in serving on one of these committees, contact Deb Brazil via email, or at 952-496-8601. For more information regarding a specific committee visit the Scott County website. Please note that some of the vacancies have incumbents who are eligible for being reappointed for another term.

Human Services Resource Council

3 vacancies

The Human Services Resource Council consists of three representatives from each Commissioner District. Currently, there are 3 vacancies on the Council; two in Commissioner District 3 and one in Commissioner District 1. 

Community Corrections Advisory Board
1 vacancy 

The Community Corrections Advisory Board is responsible for making recommendations to the Scott County Board of Commissioners as they relate to community corrections.  The Board is comprised of law enforcement staff, corrections staff, judges, attorneys, social services personnel, educators, and citizens.  There are five citizen members, one from each Commissioner District.  Advisory Board members are appointed to serve two-year terms and are eligible to serve three terms.  Persons of color and from various ethnic groups are particularly encouraged to apply.  This Board meets every other month on the fourth Thursday at 7:30 a.m.  Currently there is one vacancy in Commissioner District 4.

Extension Committee
1 vacancy 

Currently, there is one youth at-large vacancy on the Extension Committee.  In partnership with the University of Minnesota, the Extension Committee assists in formulating programs, establishing budgets, and selecting and evaluating professional staff to improve the quality of life and to enhance the economy and environment through education, applied research, and the resources of the University of Minnesota.  The Committee meets four times per year (Wednesday evenings, 5:15 p.m.).



Commissioner Districts

District 1, Commissioner Barb Weckman Brekke

The cities of Belle Plaine, Jordan (precincts 1 and 2), New Prague (precinct 2), and Shakopee (precinct 5); and Belle Plaine, Blakeley, Helena, Jackson, Louisville, St. Lawrence, and Sand Creek Townships

District 2, Commissioner Tom Wolf

The cities of Elko New Market and Prior Lake (precincts 2 and 3); and Cedar Lake, Credit River, New Market, and Spring Lake Townships.

District 3, Commissioner Michael Beard

The city of Shakopee, precincts 1 - 4, 6 - 8 , 12A, and 12B.

District 4, Commissioner Dave Beer

The cities of Prior Lake (precincts 1, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, and 7) and Shakopee (precincts 9, 10, 11, and 13).

District 5, Commissioner Jon Ulrich

The city of Savage.